Oxford Circus street game

Posted: February 3, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

So I promised you all a post on my street game session (aka my epic street game fail), and here it is.

I meet a couple of new Wings at Oxford Circus on Thursday night.  For those of you who don’t know what Oxford Circus is, it’s basically a cross section of two major roads, one of which being Oxford Street which is one of the big 3 shopping streets in London’s West End. On a really good weekend up to 1 million people will pass through Oxford Circus. An area with that much foot traffic is obviously target rich, so let the game commence…

Oxford Circus

Oxford Circus - A target rich venue in London's West End

My two partners in crime for the night were BankBoy and Jester. Jester’s a short black guy in his 20’s who seemed to have boundless energy. BankBoy’s 30, and works (unsurprisingly) in a bank.

There are 4 tube station exits at each corner of the Oxford Circus intersection. Plenty of people hang around there so that’s where we decided to make our approaches.

Jester was unstoppable. He was a fucking opening machine. This was his first ever sarge and he opened like a pro. He just seemed to have boundless energy, and his approaches to women conveyed his sense of fun, while still making them feel comfortable. BankBoy was slightly more nervous, but still fun and made plenty of approaches. I was still Mr. Approach Anxiety, but still managed 5 approaches myself.

We were using the following openers:

  • Cigarette opener: Just asking for a light, then trying to start a conversation.
  • You look like a nice person, will you shelter me under your umbrella (it was raining)
  • You’re going to have to entertain me until my friends get here
  • I just saw you passing buy, and I had to stop you and tell you I really like you’re style (on a moving target)
  • To a girl on her mobile, mouthing the words, “Are you going to be long”. If she hangs up quickly, start by saying, “I was just passing and really wanted to say hi”

The two openers which seemed to work the best are the phone one and the “I really like your style one”. The phone one shocks them (in a good way) because they assume you have something really important to tell them, it shows confidence, and it’s quite a way removed from a ‘traditional’ chat up line. The style one obviously plays right to a girl’s ego, feeding it a massive dollop of ice cream. Girl’s get told they’re hot all the time, but complementing their fashion sense allows you to pay a compliment whilst not appearing to be like all the other guys that hit on them.

My approaches where as follows:

  • Can I get a light opener on a 6: Tried to chat to her about what she’d been up to that day, she was unresponsive
  • Can I get a light opener on a 9: Tried the old, “I didn’t think anyone still smoked anymore”. She completely blew me out.
  • “You’re going to have to entertain me till my friends get here” on a 7:  She looked absolutely shocked at first. Think rabbit in the headlights kind of look. I moved past this and just kept talking. Chatted to her for about five minutes. Her parents were from Lancashire but she was brought up in Germany, so her accent made her sound like the love child of a farm girl and a Gestapo officer, so I negged her about that a bit. Got some IOIs (she re initiated conversation a couple of times when it lagged and also gave me a cigarette. I must have been doing OK because Jester waved his phone at me from a distance to try and get me to number close. It turned out she was flying out to Germany the next day, so I didn’t bother. This approach was encouraging though.
  • Asked a 9 if I could shelter under her umbrella. She seemed weary but I insisted, and came off as really creepy. I think I pushed too hard and encroached too far into her personal space. We ended up chatting about mobile phone packages (yes, I am London’s greatest Lothario, dear reader). You know in the movies where the teenage guy is talking to the super hot girl and he gets tongue tied to great comic effect, and your shouting at the screen, “WTF are you doing, you loser?”? Well, this happened to me. I ended up asking her how big her package was, then saying, “It wasn’t meant to come out like that!”. Don’t ask. Epic fail.
  • Asked a tall 8 what she thought about shorter guys. Rabbit in the head lines look again. I supplicated by saying it doesn’t matter and she doesn’t need to answer. This is a mistake as it shows a weakness on my part, like I’m overly concerned about the fact I’ve taken her out of her comfort zone. She finally replied, “My mother told me never to trust a man with short legs”. I fired back with, “What happen’s if he’s got normal length legs but a short body?”. That made her laugh but I was ultimately unable to get a conversation going.

So not a complete disaster, but close. Should be doing the same thing this week, and hope to see some improvement. I’m still not really looking for a number close yet, just to get confident at opening.

Some things I learned from this:

  • Girls aren’t used to being approached on the street with quick, confident openers in the same way they are when they’re in a bar. If they look a bit surprised and are speechless when you open, don’t worry. It doesn’t mean you’ve screwed up, it just means you’ve surprised them. This is a good thing. People want excitement. Most people lead boring lives; a good opener on the street could well be the highlight of a girls day.
  • You are doing to have to do 90% of the talking if you want to get a conversation going. Bombarding her with questions seems needy and seems to put girls off. This is where various routines come in handy. These routines can be stacked to get a great conversation going. This is too advanced for me at the moment. I’m just focusing on overcoming my approach anxiety.
  • If you are too nervous when approaching and / or intrude into a girls personal space too much, you’re going to freak her out. Confidence will come with repeated exposure to approaching hot women.

They’ll be another post later in the week about some night game I did on Saturday. I meet some great people and found a great opener, I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

Comments
  1. […] Beta To PUA Mastering game in the city of London « Oxford Circus street game […]

  2. Am reading through every post on this website,

    Some really great stuff happening here and lot of lessons i can learn

    I admire your work!!

    I have been on a pua journey myself for the past 4 months.

  3. kahn says:

    Try to follow Paul Janka’s method, it will work better

Leave a Reply

