My PUA goals for April

Posted: April 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

Since I failed to complete all of my goals for March, I will basically be repeating the same goals for April. This is like a punishment for not achieving what I wanted last month. Bad beta.

I will, however be changing some of my goals slightly. Since I’m burning through money like a sex addict in a whore house at the moment, I really need to curtail my spending when it comes to game.

To ensure there are no more over priced cocktails which cost more than a two course meal in some restaurants, and no stupidly expensive taxi journeys half way across London to get home (at least I always get driven past Big Ben on the way home from Shoreditch) I will be limiting myself to a gaming budget of £200 per month. That may seem like a lot to some, but living in London and going out twice a week, it really doesn’t amount to much to be honest. I’ll be withdrawing £200 cash on April 1st. That money will only be spent on game, and when it’s gone it’s gone. So if I spend too much too soon, then I will miss my goals again due to lack of field training.

No more Applesynth’s for me then. Sigh.

The other thing I will change about my goals is the number of approaches. I thought that doing a lot of approaches in March wasn’t that important because I thought I’d ‘cured’ my approach anxiety the previous month. This turned out to be really bad thinking, dear reader. Although I’m much more comfortable approaching now, I’m still not as comfortable as I thought I was. I still abort fairly simple approaches at least once or twice a night. I hate that feeling of being the pussy khamakazie pilot who pulls up at the last second before impact. I really want to be able to approach every set I’m intending on approaching. This will leave me without regret at the end of the night.

Making more approaches is also very important in terms of practise. The more times I open, the better my body language will be, the brighter my smile will be and the smoother my voice will be. For people who aren’t naturals, opening a set is a learned skill. Skills are learned by repetitive practice. Practice makes perfect, and as the great book ‘Outliers’ teaches us, lots of practise is required to perfect a skill. Listen to what the book has to say about studies conducted to find out how much impact innate skill vs hard practise has on making someone an expert in any field:

…he and his colleagues couldn’t find any ‘naturals’, musicians who floated effortlessly to the top while practising a fraction of the time their peers did. Nor could they find any ‘grinds’, people who worked harder than everyone else, yet just didn’t have what it takes to break the top ranks…

The emerging picture for such studies is that ten thousand hours of practise is required to achieve the level of mastery associated with being a world-class expert – in anything.

This notion of tenacious practise being critical to success in any field comes up again and again. I once heard an expert martial artist say he got annoyed with martial artists who weren’t very skilled saying, “I wish I could be as good as you, but I just don’t have the natural ability”. He would always answer, “Train five days a week, at least two hours a day for ten years. Then see how much your natural ability holds you back”.

I think the same is true with getting good at pickup. You have to spend loads of time in the field actually talking to women. Mystery spent 4 hours a day 4 days a week for the best part of a decade in the field, and that is’nt including any time he spent thinking about game or practising routines on his own. That amounts to nearly ten thousand hours, by the way.

Now I can never hope to spend 10k hours in the field, which may mean I’m never going to be a mPUA to the standard of Mystery. The important thing to take away from this, though, is that I must maximise my time talking to women in the field. This means making more approaches, because that is what it will take to get deeper into more sets. So, I’ve had a think about how many sets I can reasonably approach. I spend about 8 or so hours a week in the field. April is a 4 week month (in terms of weekends), so that gives me 32 hours in the field in April. Making an approach, on average every 30 minutes would mean 64 approaches. I’ll call it 60 to account for things like tube closures and queuing to get into bars. So that’s my approach target for April: 60 approaches.

So my full list of goals for April is as follows:

  1. 60 approaches
  2. 10 situational openers
  3. 10 negs
  4. 10 DHVs
  5. 5 FTCs
  6. 5 x 5 minute sets
  7. 5 x 10 minute sets

My main wing is out of town for the first couple of weeks of the month, so it’s going to be hard to do this. Wish me luck.

Comments
  1. […] PUA goals update Last month I posted my April PUA goals, and now I’m going to review how things […]

  2. David says:

    Kamikazi – but all the best with it all.

    Drinks prices hurt, and truly take the piss.

Leave a Reply

