April PUA goals update

Posted: April 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

Last month I posted my April PUA goals, and now I’m going to review how things went.

To cut a long story short, April was by far my worst month. I feel like I’ve actually gone backwards in terms of progress. In May, although I didn’t hit my goals, I still feel like I made progress. This month, however, I had trouble even opening sets. My approach anxiety seems to be back to where I first started. I really don’t know why this is. Anyway, here’s what I (under) achieved in April:

  1. 60 Openers – 19 Achieved
  2. 10 Situational openers – 4 achieved
  3. 10 negs – 1 achieved
  4. 10 DHVs – 2 achieved
  5. 5 FTCs – 5 achieved
  6. 5 5 minute sets – 3 achieved
  7. 5 10 minute sets – 1 achieved
  8. £200 spending limit – Done

All in all, a fucking disgrace. Certainly feeling more like a beta than a PUA.

The iceing on the cake is that I almost got arrested for assaulting a police officer at the end of my last sarging session. My wingman did get arrested. I need a new wing. Any takers?

I really want to get deeper into sets and start running routines, but I keep getting crippled by social anxiety. Master PUA Brad P., in his great essay ‘The Forbidden Truth’ lists social courage as a PUA’s most important asset. It is the factor most critical to success in pickup, and it’s the one I’m struggling the most with. Achieving all my goals  this month would have been trivial if it wasn’t for lack of confidence. My own mind is my greatest enemy at the moment.

One thing I did learn this month is how I am attempting to transition from an opener to a ‘normal’ conversation is wrong. I had a set of prepared conversation threads which all basically centred around my opener. This didn’t work because girls seemed to sense that I was trying desperately to keep the conversation going by expanding upon my opening gambit. This sense of desperation put them off, and blew me out of sets. I instead need to come up with something completely unrelated to the opener in order to transition into attraction. Something fun and fluffy which will buy me their attention for another 2 minutes or so.

Also, I need to work on my, “I’m joking” face. My humour has always been really dead pan in it’s delivery. Guys seem to get this, but I just come off as really serious (and hence boring) to girls. I need to smile when making jokes. Girls’ humour seems unsophisticated compared to a man’s.

I’ll set some simpler goals for May and get to it.

I’m not giving up.

Comments
  1. SupermanPUA says:

    I feel the same exact way. This past month has been atrocious for me. I need to unfuck it!

Leave a Reply

