Direct approach day game is fucking scarey

Posted: June 26, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I think the title says it all really. Over the past few months I have got reasonably confident at opening indirectly. I still wanted to open more sets though.

In busy areas of London there are so many more viable sets wandering around during the day than there are hanging out in bars during the evening. This lead me to believe that the best way to increase the number of sets I open each month would be to take up day game.

I did a bit of reading and it turns out most PUAs favour the direct approach during the day. This is because most day time targets are moving them, and direct approach is the most likely to stop them dead in their tracks so you can start running game. In addition to this, during the day girls are often on their way somewhere, so they don’t usually have more than a few minutes to stop and chat. You need to be quick and to the point. The direct approach is the best way to achieve this.

I assumed the direct approach in the day would be easier than going indirect at night. Opening a one set is less intimidating than having to game group, surely? Not having to deal with bouncers and drunk people would surely make everything easier?

My assumption was wrong, dear reader.

When I actually got out into the field, my AA was far worse during day game than in the bars at night. I think it’s a combination of things that made this the case:

1. Going direct is more scary than going indirect, because you pretty much have to tell the girl that you’re into her as soon as you open.

2. Day game generally requires that you have to stop a moving target. This is more daunting than just approaching a stationary group.

3. In bars the music tends to be so loud that only the set hears you’re opener. Without the cover of music, and in a busy public area you worry that people will overhear your approach when you do it during the day.

The first few times I went out to sarge during the day I couldn’t bring myself to open. I literally spent around 8 hours in total wondering around some of the busiest streets in the whole of London, and didn’t open once.

Like I said, it can be fucking terrifying.

I vowed that today would be different. I headed to Covent Garden after having made a contract with myself. This contract stated that I would do two warmups and then three proper approaches before I went home. I would not go home until I was done.

I was there for over 3 fucking hours.

I did it though. Next weekend I’m going back. I’m making a contract with myself again. This time it’s to open six sets in two hours. Since I can see myself opening less than six in the allotted time, and then giving up and going home, I have included a clause in the contract. If I fail to open six sets on two hours, I will have to open a total of ten sets before I go home.

Wish me luck.

Comments
  1. Wolf says:

    Hey, I don’t know your name but I just wanted to say I’ve been following your progress through Google Reader for a while now- I really love and admire the effort and field reports you are making – good on you! You’re blog is an excellent touchstone for all the guys who feel they are struggling and can get discouraged seeing the PUAs reeling in HBs seemingly without effort. I feel we are quite similarly placed in terms of Game (although I may be a bit ahead of you), the struggles to improve, sticking points, etc.

    I just wanted to say that some major lessons I learned from Day Game (my favorite) are to always Warm Up (!) – what I do is walk around a busy area I want to Sarge high-fiving people. Proper method is to: Stop (in front of the person). and raise arm. THEN say something like “HEY! Those are awesome sun-glasses- high five.” The order is very important, and if done correctly 95% of people will stop and high five in return. You can even proceed to open if you’re warmed up enough. I do this for about 30 minutes.

    Then, I make it a rule now to always open 5 sets within the first hour! You’re first five sets are usually pretty shaky as you’re still warming up, so they don’t ‘count’. It’s important to get them out of the way fast.

    So congrats on the tremendous efforts you are making, really pushing yourself and your boundaries; I certainly recognize the efforts to set a goal and stay there until accomplished. Keep going, I’ll be cheerleading from the Pacific Coast!

    Wolf, in Tacoma Washington.

    • betatopua says:

      Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate it.

      My progress does seem to be really slow. I started out very introverted, so I think it’s going to take a long time to get any good, as I have to do a lot of re-wiring in my brain in terms of how I view both myself and human interaction in general.

  2. Mothman454 says:

    I actually like to walk along with the target as I open; it seems more casual and easygoing. And sometimes we naturally will stop and chat.

  3. J says:

    Seek Jesus and HE will solve all of your problems.

Leave a Reply

