Saturday night’s field report

Posted: May 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

I think it’s good to post a field report every now and again, so here’s mine from a west end club last night.

The beginning of the night was a bit of a debacle. Myself and two wings were meant to go to my favorite club in the west end (with a third wing meeting us there later). We go early to avoid the cover charge and to increase our chances of getting in. They’re very strict about letting in male only groups, and even at around 8:40 which is when we went, a male only group can’t exceed 3 guys or you won’t get in. The three of us make it to the front of the small queue, when some guy from the LSS that one of my wings knows joins and starts talking to my wing. “How many of you are there guys?” the bouncer asks. “Three” I reply. He’s just asking us for our IDs when random LSS guy pipes up “Four of us”. Fucking numpty. I knew as soon as he said that he had ensured that none of us were getting in. He just happened to be wandering by and thought he’d try to get in because he had seen someone he knew in the queue, and he fucked out night up because of it. I tried to claim there were 3 of us but this twat said 4 again so the bouncer conferred with the manager and it was a no go to us getting in. Random LSS guy disappears as fast as he came.

The next bar we was showing some big football match that night so even at 8:50 there’s a queue of 30 people outside, almost all of them blokes. That bar’s a cockfest any time there’s a match on so we hurry across Piccadilly Circus to get into another club before 9pm when they start charging.

We get inside and see some old friends / familiar faces that we chat to. We find out that there’s been some LSS event on that day and now there’s about 20 aspiring PUAs in the venue. My wings seem bothered by this, but I don’t really care. I catch up with some guys I haven’t seen for a while, and grab a beer. My wings go off to smoke, and I stay to finish my beer.

I’m leaning on the bar surveying the dance floor when I notice a petite HB8 with dyed short red hair giving me the eye from the dance floor. I smile back and eye fuck her a little. She keeps looking over throughout the next ten minutes. I can tell she’s starting to wonder why I’m not coming over. I’m not rushing my beer, sweetie.

Just as I finish my beer two guys open her and her friends. One guy’s going for a bit of kino on her, and she’s not interested. The guys move away a bit. I slowly make my way onto the dancefloor and towards my girl. She’s small enough to bounce of my dick. The club’s still only half full so I can make use of this with my best slow but confident swagger from the bar to the middle of the dancefloor to get her. I’m half way there when those guys are back again. The guy who’s after her has his hand on her shoulder. I decide I’m going to have to abort the approach.

Not so long ago I remember knowing logically what the ‘alpha’ thing to do would be in situations in clubs, but despite consciously thinking I should do this always reverting back to doing the same lacking in confidence beta stuff. My logical mind would tell me the correct play, but my instinct was towards cowardice, and so that’s what won out. My body would just do the pussy thing despite what my head was saying, like my conscious thoughts were just ineffectual background noise. That’s exactly what happened during this approach. But in reverse this time…

So my head’s telling me to abort the approach. My conscious mind is made up. But I’m still moving forward. My instinct is winning the battle over my conscious mind again, but this time my instincts are different. They are that of a man who goes for what he wants. The guys hand is still on her shoulder and he’s whispering in her ear. I walk up behind her, grab her arm and spin her round to face me.

Hi.
Smiles.
Her eyes light up.
She’s a little confused.
I’m so sure of myself.
Hi.
The other guy fades into the background.

It turns out her and her friends are in London for the weekend, visiting from Krakow (Poland). I haven’t been abroad much but Krakow is one of the few places I’ve been, so we try and chat about it for a bit. The combination of her poor English and the loud music make this hard, so I isolate and take her downstairs where there’s no music.

We chat for a bit and I ask her about the hen party badge she’s wearing. I try and read it, but as soon as I do she hides the writing and takes it off. Hmm. We’ve been alone less than 10 minutes when one of her friends finds us and literally drags her off. She puts up a little resistance, but goes eventually. I don’t usually bitch about cock blocking, because the way I see it, is what guys view as cock blocking is often actually the girl not being interested and saved from the guy by a friend. It’s just guys don’t realize this, and moan about how the friend ruined their chances. The truth is, if a girl genuinely likes you it’s very rare for anyone but you to ruin the set. In this case though the girl was into me, so I was a little annoyed.

I saw her a couple of times throughout the night. She still seemed interested, but something was holding her back, so I didn’t pursue it. My take on the situation was that she was the hen (about to be married) and so being with me was her misbehaving. That fits with her reaction to me asking about the badge and her friend dragging her off.

Open a few more sets. They’re luke warm and don’t like me escalating. A milf with a not great face but OK body opens me on the dancefloor. She’s on holiday from Dublin and apparently I’m the best looking guy she’s seen so far in London. Cool. I’m not too into her but like the way she moves her body as she grinds me, and this wins me over. I try to escalate, it’s a no go. Same on isolation. Verdict is she’s attracted but not sexually available, so I move on. “Don’t leave me” she says. I’m such a heart breaker.

I open a girl who looks like a solid 7 as she walks past me. Her friend tries to instantly drag her off. Not this time, bitch. I tell her friend no. We’re talking. I’m doing the 60 Years of Challenge hand caressing within 2 minutes. We try and dance but it’s fucking rammed so I isolate downstairs. She’s from Hungry and not as hot as I initially thought. She’s been living here for a while so her English is OK, but the conversation is a bit dull. She’s not very lively and gentle teasing doesn’t really spark her buying temperature. After a 20 minute chat I take her to dance again. On the dancefloor I escalate and try for the KClose and get denied a few times over the course of the next 30 minutes.

By this point I’m bored of her. She goes to the toilets and I’m hoping she doesn’t come back. As soon as she comes out of the toilets she runs off to find her friends.

This was an interesting set in some ways. It confirms something I’ve had thoughts on but they’ve never fully crystalized. I really believe you can’t stay in set too long in a club. Even if you find a quiet corner to talk in, it’s not like a bar where you can sit and talk for a couple of hours. Trying to do so in a club will kill the interaction. All the spark will just go. I’ve seen this happen multiple times. The soultion is to make a decision at around the 30 minute mark. Either try and extract then and there, or number close and take her back to her friends. If you number close you can still reopen say 30 minutes later, and things will be fresh again, whereas hanging in set will allow things to go stale. You can always go for the SNL when you reopen. Also, you can open other sets and get more prospects for that night during this ‘break’ you’re taking from her.

It’s becoming more and more obvious that I’m good at the opening stages of game. I can approach and attract average to above average women both in clubs and online. I then have a huge sticking point around the middle. I suppose in the ‘comfort’ stage. So I suck at day 2s and basically turning initial interest in to lays. This is in contrast to when I had trouble getting any initial interest but could converts most of the interest I did get into lays.

I’m going to consult the LSS and Seddit about this, because it’s a major problem, and seems to be all that’s standing in my way between getting laid occasionally and getting laid consistently. If I crack this I may actually then be able to call myself a PUA. The trouble is, I really can’t work out what the problem is. It isn’t something simple and obvious like confidence or escalation or body language. When I first started game, it was easy to improve because my problems were so obvious. Others could easily point them out to me (lack of confidence, poor dress sense, overweight, always in my own head). Now people just say I seem like I should do well with women. Yet I don’t.

I think it’s a mix of lifestyle and deep personality traits. Fixing things like this could be a huge task.

Next time I post I’ll focus on what specifically I think my problems are, but it’s just a guess.

 

Comments
  1. Jim Bacon says:

    Very well written field report mate. Hopefully at some point this year I can overcome my health problems and post up some field reports of my own like this.

    Re: the guy who tried to join your group which prevented you from getting into Tiger Tiger – what a twit.

  2. Ash says:

    Unlucky with the LSS guy problem mate. Seems like you are at least able to identify where your problems are. Most guys in the ‘community’ do the same things over and over again expecting the different outcomes. Keep it up.

  3. MikeG says:

    “I really believe you can’t stay in set too long in a club. Even if you find a quiet corner to talk in, it’s not like a bar where you can sit and talk for a couple of hours. Trying to do so in a club will kill the interaction. All the spark will just go. I’ve seen this happen multiple times. The soultion is to make a decision at around the 30 minute mark. Either try and extract then and there, or number close and take her back to her friends. If you number close you can still reopen say 30 minutes later, and things will be fresh again, whereas hanging in set will allow things to go stale. You can always go for the SNL when you reopen. Also, you can open other sets and get more prospects for that night during this ‘break’ you’re taking from her.”

    Yep, this is actually a really common problem. I’ve gotten burnt in the past a lot with this and it wasn’t until an incident that happened about 5 years where I had realized this. I think in PUA terms they call it a girls buying temperature….the problem is if you stay in the set to long and can’t progress her buying temp drops(attraction dies off).

    Long story short I picked up a very hot stripper at a bar(she wasn’t working….just some regular bar). I left with her. I was heavily making out with her in the back of the car and then had her completely naked. Thats where I messed up. The problem was the drive was about 40 mins and I had her naked in 10 mins. Now she wasnt willing to take it all the way and fuck in the car while other people where in there so that means there is an awkward 30 min ride and she literally lost 100% interest in me because I took it so far and we couldn’t escalate. If I where to use my upper head I would have realized logistically it would have been better off holding back until I could close for sure.

    While thats a much more extreme example, the same theory applies. If you can’t bounce these girls out of a club then the worst thing is being that guy who’s hanging around her for that long because her buying temp will drop. Unless you had a shit load of social proof like being friends with all the staff and having a bunch of your hot female friends coming up to you and you can introduce her to then,,,,,she’s going to get a little tired of you. Paul Janka mentions this with street pickup. The perfect pickup is 60 seconds. He references the Matt Damon elevator scene in the Departed. While it doesn’t have to be 60 seconds in a club, you can see unless you can escalate logistically in the moment you’re better off keeping the interactions shorter.

    • betatopua says:

      I’ve found this to be true a few times now, so I’m going to incorporate it into my night game stratagy.

      I think you will meet a lot of girls where there is mutual sexual attraction there, but you’re personalities don’t really click. This is especially true when I meet non anglosphere women (there are a lot of these in London’s west end) due to language / humor / cultural barriers. In these cases you really want to keep the talking to a minimum. If you spend too much time talking to them it will be obvious that your personalities don’t match well, and they won’t fuck you. Best to fuck them before that becomes an issue.

      I do need to get better at the comfort side of things though.

  4. Jim Bacon says:

    I agree with your analysis, and your solution of number closing and then pissing off before things go stale.

    But you are running into the ‘big city, never gonna see you again problem’. In a smaller, but still cool to go out in town (e.g. Brighton) or a holiday town (e.g. Utlia Honduras for diving, or Queenstown New Zealand during snow season) you know that you will run into them again, or that the next time you are out you can just text them “What bar are you in?” and you know that they’ll be nearby. In London they’ll probably be a 20 quid 20 minute cab ride away, and the people you are out with won’t want to move.

    Not much you can do about this, but it is one of the ways that living in London makes things more difficult.

Leave a Reply

